REGENHU-Switzerland-3d-bioprinting-instrument-bio-3d-printers-BarbaraRothen-SkinModel-TissueModel

Can you tell us about yourself, your role at your current company/institution and what you do there?
My name is Barbara Rothen-Rutishauser. I’m a professor of BioNanomaterials in the Adolphe Merkle Institute at the University of Fribourg, Switzerland. I co-chair the BioNanomaterials group with my colleague Prof. Alke Fink. She is a materials engineer by training, and I’m a cell biologist, so we are very complementary. This is reflected in the different projects we are currently undertaking which can be material focused or centered around biological tissue models. My work is mostly research-related. I supervise projects, write grants and papers, and work alongside our partners. In addition, I also do some administrative work and teach classes at university.

How did you get started with 3D bioprinting?
It was about eight years ago when Marc Thurner, the former founder and CEO of REGENHU, approached us for a collaboration through which we were able to obtain funds to acquire a 3D bioprinter and start our first research project aimed at designing an in vitro lung model based on a novel bioprinting approach.

What motivates you most about your work?
The freedom of being able to define the directions of our research, and build on our expertise and our networks. If I come up with an idea, I’m free to make it a reality and that, to me, is really what I love the most about my work. Another important driver for me is to find ways to reduce and eliminate animal testing. One approach is to improve tissue models that also allow testing of novel nanoparticles or drugs. Finding ways to help improve lives while reducing animal experimentation is very rewarding to me.

What projects are you currently working on?