REGENHU-Switzerland-3d-bioprinting-instrument-bio-3d-printers-MaiteRielland-skinModel-tissuemodel

Can you tell us about yourself, your role at your current company/institution and what you do there?
My name is Maïté Rielland. I have a PhD in Development and Stem Cells and a post-doctorate from NYU School of Medicine and Mont Sinai School of Medicine, United States, all focusing on 2D and 3D in vitro models.

I was hired by L’Oréal in 2014, and I’m currently working as a Transversal and Technical Leader/Scientific Leader in Biomaterial/Bioprinting in Cellular and Tissue Engineering Platform headed by Dr. Jérémie Soeur. I lead a team dedicated to the development of new human skin models and associated methods with the use of new technologies, including bioprinting, for cosmetic evaluation tests.

How did you get started with 3D bioprinting and what motivates you most about your work?
I was hired by L’Oréal to install their bioprinters, but I never worked with bioprinting technologies before that. However, I had a pretty good expertise in 2D and 3D models, and I was trained to create new protocols from scratch which was necessary back in 2014 to start printing human skin tissue.

I love my job. Bioprinting is so new and seems so limitless in term of possibilities for the moment. As I like to say, our only limitation with bioprinting is our imagination. I also enjoy the transversality of expertise (biology, chemistry, engineering, biomechanics, analytic chemistry…etc.) that is involved in the bioprinting process. Through my work, I have developed a huge network of experts inside and outside L’Oréal. Together, we are working to crack this ever-evolving technology. Thanks to these exchanges, I learn new things every single day at work.

What projects are you currently working on?