REGENHU-Switzerland-3d-bioprinting-instrument-bio-3d-printers-ClaraGarcia-CancerBiomarker-Bioink

Can you tell us about yourself, your role at your current company/institution and what you do there?
My name is Clara García Astrain. I hold a bachelor’s degree in Chemistry from the University of Navarra and a PhD in Engineering of Renewable Materials from the University of the Basque Country. I’m currently working as a post-doc researcher at CIC bioMAGUNE’s Bionanoplasmonics lab. Day to day, you’ll find me in the lab creating 3D scaffolds and developing new cell models and bioinks.

How did you get started with 3D bioprinting?
I started working in 3D bioprinting about two years ago when I was hired at CIC bioMAGUNE. I was assigned to a European Research Council-funded project named “4D BIOSERS”, aimed at creating 3D cell models to study cancer and tumor and tissue growth with the aid of Surface Enhanced Raman Spectroscopy (SERS), an analytical and imaging technique.

What motivates you most about your work?
One of my main motivations for working in this field is the opportunity to continuously learn. You have to follow what other researchers are doing, learn bioprinting techniques, and stay-up to date on the latest research. I also love the multidisciplinarity that’s involved in my work. Every day, I get to work with people from different scientific backgrounds: chemists, physicists, biologists, etc. Getting to exchange different points of view and approaches to bioprinting with my team as well as coming together to combine our efforts is a very enriching experience.

What projects are you currently working on?